Use a glossary (your project term base) to keep project translations consistent.
Any project user can define the terms for the project. Each term is defined and described in the glossary. If a term is used in the source language translation, it will automatically show up in the editor's inline suggestion box.
Setting up glossary
To get started, open your project and proceed to the Glossary page by clicking the corresponding icon.
Press the Add glossary item button to add a new entry to the glossary.
On the General tab provide the following:
- Term or tag — the term that you would like to add to your glossary.
- General description — optional explanation of your term that will be visible to the translators. This description will be shown if a translated description is not provided for a given language (see below).
- Translatable — whether the term should be translatable. Some acronyms like "PNG" or "HTML" are untranslatable whereas terms like "browser" or "site" have to be translated.
- Case sensitive — whether your term is case-sensitive. For example, acronyms like PNG or BMP can be marked as case-sensitive.
Proceed to the Translations and descriptions tab. Here you may translate your term into the project languages and (optionally) provide translated descriptions. If the translated description is not available for a language, a general description will be used instead. Not that this tab will not be accessible if you've set Translatable option to Off. Note that it is not mandatory to translate the added term before adding it to the glossary.
Keeping translations consistent across the whole project is always important. Using the Extract terms feature allows you to automatically extract the terms repeated a certain number of times and add them to the Glossary.
To get started, press the Extract terms button. You have to set up the minimum length of the words and the minimum amount of times the word appears in the project to extract a word as a term.
Managing glossary entries
After the term is added, it will appear on the Glossary page.
It shows the actual term, its general description, translations into different languages, and translated descriptions.
Click on the magnifying glass icon to find all translation containing the given term.
Click on the trash bin icon to delete the term from the glossary.
Downloading and uploading terms in CSV format
You may export all glossary entries and their translation to your PC in CSV format by pressing the Download CSV button on the Glossary page.
The terms can also be imported to the glossary from the CSV file by pressing the Upload CSV button.
When preparing a CSV file, please follow these rules:
;should be used as separators.
- The file has to contain a header row.
- The first column in your file should be
- The second column is
- Each of the next two column headers must be the language ISO code as defined in your project (e.g.
ru). The first of the two columns itself should contain term definitions in the respective language and the second column of the pair should contain term descriptions in the language.
Here is an example of a valid
Finally, note that you can separate terms with a comma to define word forms, for example "account,accounts,accounted".
Using glossary entries
Every detected term will be shown in the translation editor:
It shows translation and description for the currently selected language. You may click on the term to add it to the translation editor box.
Key tags and glossary entries
Glossary entries are displayed for the key tags as well. Suppose you have a translation key with the "api" tag:
You create a new glossary entry:
Then you proceed to translating the "export" key with the "api" tag:
The glossary entry is displayed for the assigned tag! Note that this glossary suggestion has a special "label" icon meaning that it is related to the tag, not to the actual key value.
The Shared glossary feature is available from the Pro plan and above.
You can share the glossary to make it available for other projects within the team. You can set up the glossary options in the Project settings.
There are three available options:
- The glossary is private and cannot be used in any other projects (this is the default option). Note that a single project can have only one glossary.
- The glossary is shared and can be used in other projects.
- The current project should use a shared glossary from another project.
So, one of your projects should have The glossary is shared option enabled. Other projects can then use this shared glossary.
The shared glossary can be modified in any project. The changes will immediately take an effect on all other projects in the team that utilize the same glossary.