Translation memory is available from the Essential plan and above. Translation memory management is available from the Pro plan and above.
Lokalise has a powerful built-in translation memory that is shared between all team projects and members. Everything that you (or any other team members) type in the editor, upload, or set via the API is being saved automatically into the translation memory for future use.
What is translation memory?
While working on your projects, you may find yourself translating the same words and phrases over and over again. Wouldn't it be more convenient to somehow rely on translations that were done previously? In Lokalise, every translation that you and other collaborators add via text editor, upload, or set via API is automatically saved to a special translation memory. For example, once a translator has completed translating a key from English into French, Lokalise will automatically save this translation option to the TM (translation memory).
Later, when you are translating the same phrase for the same language, Lokalise will provide you with a handful of inline suggestions from the translation memory. This way, you’ll be able to use the translation right away, without the need to type everything by hand. This is a very convenient feature that could save you quite a bit of time. Even if the phrase is not identical, the Lokalise engine will try to search for a similar phrase and display its match percentage.
By default, each project inside a team shares the same translation memory, but that may be adjusted as needed. Admins may create and assign as many memory storages as needed.
8191 chars maximum for a single TM entry. Longer texts won’t be saved in the TM.
1000 chars maximum for a single TM inline suggestion. Longer texts won’t be shown as a suggestion.
TMX files larger than 100MB cannot uploaded.
The number of translation memory entries per TM storage is not limited.
Translation memory feature is available from the Essential plan and above.
Inline suggestions are automatically fetched from the translation memory storage and displayed in the editor for you. Inline suggestions are shown in cases when the source text matches the target by 50% and above.
For the first suggestion the match percentage is 89% meaning that this entry was added for a very similar translation but not totally identical. Probably, you'll need to adjust this suggestion a bit.
The second suggestion has 68% match which means that the translation was quite different from the current one. Suggestions with match percentages lower than 50% won't be displayed.
Also, for each suggestion you can see:
Text in the source language (English in this case). Moreover, you can see the difference between the current source text and the source text fetched from the translation memory. The difference in the translation memory is highlighted with green, whereas the current source text difference is striked out with a red line.
Translation in the target language (Russian in this case).
The name of the translation memory storage that the entry was fetched from (Lokalise Translation Memory in this case).
When this entry was added to the translation memory and who performed this action.
To the right you can see an
xicon. Click on it to delete a translation memory entry. Please note that this action can only be performed by project admins and it is available from the Pro plan and above.
You can control how many inline TM suggestions are displayed in the editor by opening your personal profile and adjusting the Translation memory setting under the General tab:
Populating TM entries in your translations in bulk
When uploading translation files, you may enable the Pre-translate with 100% TM matches option. When this option enabled, Lokalise will fetch each base language value from the uploaded file and try to find a matching entry in the translation memory. If a 100% match is found, the corresponding translation will be populated for the given key (provided that this key does not have a translation yet).
Also, you can apply TM to multiple keys in bulk. To achieve that, simply select one or more translation keys and then choose Apply TM to from the bulk menu. Adjust the match percentage, choose a language, and click Apply.
Translation memory management
All translation management memory features are available from the Pro plan and above.
Translation memory management is the process of modifying or deleting TM entries as well as creating, downloading, uploading, modifying, and deleting TM storages (TMX files).
Translation memory widget
This widget allows you to find, browse, and delete translation memory suggestions from your storages. Using the widget allows concordance search.
To open translation memory widget use the
Ctrl+G key combination, or click the following icon inside your project:
Here's the widget:
Use the box with a glass icon to enter a search term. In the screenshot above, we're searching for all phrases containing the word "welcome" translated into any language.
Use the Results dropdown to adjust how many results should be displayed initially.
Use the All target languages dropdown to further adjust your search. By default, translation entries for all languages will be searched.
Exact match — restricts the search results to 100% matches.
Search target — allows you to search in the target language. If disabled, the search is performed in the source language.
Include regions — enable this to include all regions available for the selected target language (and source language when in bilingual mode).
My entries — search only among the elements added by you (not by other members of the team).
Click on the trash bin icon to delete a translation memory entry. Please note that only team admins or team owners can delete translation memory entries.
TM entries that will appear in this widget are:
Only from the TMs selected in the project settings of the current project
Are not restricted to any file uploaded to Lokalise but are language pair related
TMX files management
Team administrators are able to manage translation memory (
.tmx) files in the team settings under the Translation memory tab. These files are the actual storages for your translation memory entries.
The following actions can be performed:
.tmxfile into the TM.
Create a new TM file.
Download a TM as a
Delete or clear existing TM files.
Please note that currently, we have a 100 MB limit on TMX upload. If your file is larger, please split it into separate files.
Setting up TM in the project settings
Project administrators can select an exact translation memory to be used in a particular project. If the project requires more than one translation memory storage they can adjust Translation memory priority by dragging the corresponding boxes into the necessary order. Also, team admins have to select which translation memory will be populated with the new translations from the project by adjusting the Translation memory target setting.