You can quickly navigate to the project settings from the project icon menu: click the More.. button and choose Settings from the drop-down list. 

On the left, you will find several groups of project settings. Switch between them to view the contents of the target group. 

For your convenience, each group has useful tips on the right side, next to the settings list. Some of the settings also have a small ? button near their labels: click it to see a short explanation.

After adjusting any parameters, do not forget to save the changes by clicking the corresponding button at the bottom. Apart from simply applying the changes to the current project, there are two additional buttons for removing the project and cloning it.

Below, you will find a brief explanation of the settings available within each group.

General

Project name: the title of your project

Description: a short summary of the project for your contributors.

Project ID: an auto-generated identifier, which is used in our API or CLI tool.

Public signup: when enabled, this lets you share a link so that new contributors can join the project. Users invited using the link are accounted for by your team plan, so make sure the total number of contributors does not exceed the number of your team plan seats.  

The link leads to the landing page of the current project. Upon opening it, the users will be able to choose any language team they would like to join, or to select all with which languages to work.

Base language: set one of the project languages to be used as base. This is important for the platform to provide you with the proper inline machine translations, translation memory, etc.

Belongs to team: move the project to any team. You must be the team’s admin in order to do this. Doing so will automatically add all the current project users to the target team.

Glossary options: you can keep the glossary private for a specific project, or share it with other users. Also, you can use a glossary from a different project if it already has been shared in another project belonging to the same team. Learn more about glossary.

Setting up TM

Project administrators can select an exact translation memory to be used in a particular project. If the project requires more than one TM they can adjust TM priority by dragging boxes into the necessary order. Also, team admins have to select which translation memory will be updated with new translations from the project. 


Quality assurance

Check the box next to any option to enable it.

Reviewing: enable reviewer access for project contributors.

Translation upvoting: allows users to vote for translation versions. The top voted translation is applied until the review takes place. Note: this option is available from the Essential plan and above.

Auto toggle Unverified: when someone changes the the base language value, all translations are automatically marked as not verified.



Miscellaneous

Per-platform key names: turn on to use different key names for the different platforms.

Offline translation: allows contributors to download and upload translations as XLIFF files. Learn more...

Allow key editing: turn on to enable modification of keys. Learn more...

Inline machine translations: enable or disable machine translation for all users involved in this project.

Contributing within tasks only: contributors can add/edit the translations only if they are assigned as contributors in a task.

YAML key separator: select a delimiter that will be used to flatten and unflatten the keys when completing a YAML import/export. You will need to re-import the keys after updating this setting.

Do not forget to hit Save change as you make adjustments. Also you are able to create a copy of the project. If required a project gets deleted. 

Integrations

Use integrations to connect your project to other popular external tools or your internal flows. Depending on the target integration platform, you will be asked to fill in different settings in order to establish the connection. Don’t worry, this will only take a few moments!

QA Checks

Quality assurance in Lokalise allows you to set up automated checks for several typical use cases. For each item, you can choose the notification level:

  • Off: the target check will not be fulfilled
  • Warning: you will be able to save the inconsistent changes but they will be marked with a warning in the editor
  • Error: the editor will not let you save any inaccurate changes; adjustments pending via the API will be marked with warnings

QA verifications notice small but important things like leading and trailing whitespaces, wrong type of brackets used, and so on.

Language auto-fill

Often there are several language variations, with only minor differences, within the same project e.g. there may be English (US), English (UK), English (Australia) and other variants. 

Here, you can add one or more auto-full rules to connect together such languages automatically.

Spelling exceptions

You can add terms to the dictionary, so the QA check would not perceive these words as spelling errors. Spelling exceptions can be managed in the project settings.

Snapshots

Take a snapshot of your project manually at any time, or schedule these to be created automatically on a daily basis. Snapshots serve as your project backup, enabling you to roll back easily at any moment in case anything goes wrong with the project contents.

Lokalise iOS SDK

Over-the-air localization SDK for iOS and MacOS. Lightweight and easy to integrate.

Lokalise Android SDK

Over-the-air localization SDK for the Android platform. No more unnecessary app updates!

Did this answer your question?